Journal Title

Wisconsin Law Review Online





First Page


Document Type


Publication Information



Every four years, the cry goes up to destroy the Electoral College. That cry is especially loud in years when a candidate is elected president who receives a minority of the votes. The election of a "minority president" happened with the election of 2000, but it had happened before. The Electoral College has elected three presidents whom a majority of the voters voted against: Rutherford B. Hayes in 1876, Benjamin Harrison in 1888, and George W. Bush in 2000. (A fourth president was also elected with a minority of the popular vote—John Quincy Adams in 1824—through that election was by the House of Representatives, the Electoral College not having produced a majority of electors. Against these recurrent cries are occasional voices of dissent, arguing for one reason or another that majority rule is not the highest value of a republic. So does this essay, arguing to keep the Electoral College, even were the rest of the Constitution subject to wholesale revision.

Recommended Citation

Stephen M. Sheppard, A Case for the Electoral College and for Its Faithless Elector, 2015 Wis. L. Rev. Online 1 (2015).



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.